Act Morally: Don’t Raise Debt Ceiling

20130128-220745.jpg

Mr Obama had it right in 2006. What’s scary for me as a seventeen year old, is my future. My government is taking out loans in my name that I am going to have to repay at some point. Congress continues to borrow money without reforming major social programs for my generation, such as medicare and social security. Our government takes in over $2 Trillion per fiscal year and spends more than that. Congress should use the debt ceiling debate as an opportunity to advocate for a ten year path to balance and reform these social programs. In ten years from now I will be twenty-seven years old and I want my government to take morally meaningful action, so my generation can have a bright future. As a junior in high school looking into college, my future has never been more financially gloomy. I hope that in ten years from now, my family and I can be thankful my government took a moral stance against raising the debt limit without reforms. This can’t happen if Republicans and Democrats continue to fail at setting us on a 10 year path to balance, like Heritage Action for America is advocating for.

Leave a comment